Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not even sure if it is potmetal,

I am starting a custom dash project using 3 large speedometer gauge pods from 59-60 Chevy Impalas, material seems to be "pot" aluminum, tested, non magnetic.

I ultimately want to weld the 3 together side by side but i sure don't want to ruin them. I am a decent tig welder with a good Miller tig, but I also have good friend that I consider expert tig welder if necessary.

any suggestions? thanks!

Attachments

·
Hotrodders.com moderator
9,581 Posts
I myself would not want to go there...I would use a good 2 part adhesive such as an epoxy or one of the body panel adhesives such as is available from UPOL..

Sam

·
WFO
5,030 Posts
Moons ago, I bought a dozen sticks of this "solder" that is a low-heat-melting alloy that will allow pot metal (usually zinc when pertaining to automotive trim, etc.), aluminum, brass, copper, etc. to be joined together.

The guy hawking this stuff (at a flea market, no less) was demonstrating it by soldering drink cans together. Took it home and promptly did exactly nothing with it, ever. But if I were looking to join pot metal parts- it is what I would reach for!

I have no idea what the alloy is- guy claimed something like 11 different metals, which I immediately took as BS, unless he's talking about all the impurities present in lead-like alloys.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Personally I'd either braze them together with an acetylene torch and some brass rod or use JB Weld. That pot metal is probably so porous that as soon as you hit it with your TIG it will pop and wheeze all over the place. You run that risk with the torch as well, so cold weld products are probably your best bet.

·
Will I ever get it done?
1,027 Posts