Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to cars. i got a 1982 el camino for my first car. 350 sbc with a th350 trans and a big cam.
Handwriting Font Material property Paper Paper product

I posted a photo of the camshaft specs. im pretty sure it has a stock rear diff. i talked to a transmission shop and got them to build a custom torque converter for me and install it. so i dont think its the torque converter holding it back. anyways i will describe the issue. the car wont go to redline or close to it when in gear. in idle i can rev it to 5200 rpm with no issues, but when its in drive it will quickly rev to 2200-2500 rpm, then stop increasing, and then slowly increase in rpm as my speed increases. the faster i go the higher the rpm goes. the highest the rpm got was around 3300 and i was going 80 mph. not sure what could be causing this. I am stumped and really need some help figuring out whats wrong with it... any ideas?

·
Registered
1979 Chevrolet Malibu 496-TH400-9" (cruiser). 1992 Chevrolet S10 355-700r4-7.625" (daily driver).
271 Posts
To get the ball rolling...That cam and torque converter are going to need more gear. The stock gear ratios in the G body rear ends have ratios like 2.29, 2.41 and 2.56:1. That covers a very high percentage of what you may have. Decide on what you're intending to do with the El Camino and we can figure out a gear ratio to better suit the application. If you do more highway driving or want more in town performance.

The next step is determining what you have for compression ratio, heads, intake and carburetor. Find out as much of that information as you can and let us know. If this cam went into a stock lower compression 350, with a numerically lower gear (like the ones listed) those 2 mismatches alone can cause what you're reporting.