Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Pool Fool Extraordinaire
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Admittedly, I'm not a mechanic, but I play one on TV.
Anyway, I'm hoping I can help someone else with the lesson I just learned:
"Carb spacers are not for everyone."
Here's what happened.... I am restoring an old f150 with a 400v8/c6 auto combination. It had an Edelbrock performer intake on it when I got it, so I bought a new Edelbrock carb for it and I got a universal 1" spacer with phenolic inserts and I used the open spacer.
Here's what happened: tuning the motor became difficult at best. Those of you who know what I did will already be aware of why this is not a good combo for Street driving.
The 1"spacer basically made my performer intake into a performer"rpm" manifold with the added effect of the open insert making it act more like a single plane Mani.
Ran GREAT at 2000+ rpm's but stumbled and bucked at idle.
The performer manifold is peak torque at 3500 rpm's, but by adding the spacer, peak torque hits at 4500, which is not street range.

So there's my hard learned lesson. Hope this helps someone out there to NOT add a spacer for no reason. I thought it would help my engine breathe, which it did, but up at an rpm range that I won't see often.

·
Race it, Don't rice it!
8,814 Posts
Pretty much.
Depending on the spacer thickness and the manifold type, and mostly valve timing, a spacer changes the way the engine pulls on the carb circuits. The extra plenum volume under the carb typically "softens" the pull but also makes the short side turn toward the intake valves easier to navigate. That will typically favor higher RPM at the expense of low speed response. Savvy carb guys can often fix that in the fuel curves.
Spacer are tricky and quite combination dependent.

·
Registered
1979 Chevrolet Malibu 496-TH400-9" (cruiser). 1992 Chevrolet S10 355-700r4-7.625" (daily driver).
241 Posts