Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, new to the forum here. I have a question about a carbureted go kart engine. I know this is a site for cars, but for my question, an engine is probably an engine. I'm in the process of building a Honda GX200 (and GX270) for an around-the-neighborhood go kart and had a question on the intake. I have a lot of engine knowledge with fuel injected car engines, but not so much with carbs. I know on a FI car, if I want high hp, I should have a short intake tube (before the throttle body), but if I want torque, use a longer tube. My engines will be built for torque since I probably wont get it up to 6,000+ rpm in the neighborhood. My question is, does the tube length have the same effect on a carb engine as it does on a fuel injected engine? Thanks

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. That engine looks awesome. I guess I used 'intake' incorrectly, I was taking about the tube going from the carb/throttle body to the air filter. Sorry. I did stack a couple of 1/4" plates in between the carb and the head to make the port longer though.

·
More for Less Racer
20,932 Posts
The length of a tube from air filter to throttle body or carb has no bearing on power output, unless it gets to a point where the length vs diameter causes it to be a restriction...i.e a 3" diameter x 3" long isn't any restriction to a 2.75" throttle opening, but make that 3" inlet pipe 72" long and it can become a restriction.

This becomes different if we are talking individual port throttle bodies, with no common plenum for all cylinders to draw off of....so a single carb single cylinder engine probably fits the individual runner/throttle body scenario.....length above the throttle plate would then matter and be a tuning aid.

·
Race it, Don't rice it!
8,819 Posts