Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a 5.7L 4-bolt Vortec short block that I just purchased from an individual claiming 39K mi. I have limited in-engine experience and I'm on a budget. I would really like to check out the short block myself to make sure all is well before spending on a top-end kit and completing final assembly. I would rather not rebuild the short block if it dosen't really need it. The cylinders look really good to me. They are not glazed. I can see the honing marks. They measure 4.00" diameter plus or minus 1.0 thousanth measured with a telescoping gauge and a good micrometer. Also, I cannot detect any ridge at all on any cylinder. My question is: Is it adviseable for me to continue my inspection by rolling the engine over (it's on my new stand) and removiing all rod and main bearing caps (marking everything first), visually inspecting the journals, and if they look good, check clearances of each bearing with a plastigauge, and if all is in-spec, simply bolt it all back together and move on? Am I asking for trouble by disturbing things? I do have good reference books and I'm comfortable with what seems to be involved. I suppose the question boils down to "what are the chances that disturbing the caps and bearings on a seasoned engine will introduce a problem?" Will every part find its "home" again if I'm careful? Tips and advice welcome. And Thanks!

·
boatbob2
1,385 Posts
short block......