Hot Rod Forum banner

Chevy 350 backfiring through carb no start

257 4
I recently removed an painted my intake manifold, after reinstalling everything it will no longer start. I’m pretty positive I have it back in time, although I’m relatively new to this as this is my first project car and I’m only 19 years old. I do suspect it to be a distributor issue, it’s an MSD PN8361. So if anyones has any advice or tips it’d be greatly appreciated.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1978 Chevrolet Corvette L-48
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I recently removed an painted my intake manifold, after reinstalling everything it will no longer start. I’m pretty positive I have it back in time, although I’m relatively new to this as this is my first project car and I’m only 19 years old. I do suspect it to be a distributor issue, it’s an MSD PN8361. So if anyones has any advice or tips it’d be greatly appreciated.
Forgot to mention it gets close to starting an will spit gas through the carb and sputter.

·
Registered
16,090 Posts
Out of time is typical when you R&R the SBC distributor. The oil pump drive shaft is a slotted drive to the distributor shaft. As tge distributor is pulled out it the spiral gears rotate the distributor shaft which carries the pump drive such that when reinstalling the distributor it’s at least a tooth off. This is over 50 degrees crankshaft so it’s way off.

The other hazard with the SBC that like all 4 cycle engines the TDC timing mark passes the timing tab twice in the full 720 degree operating cycle. With the SBC the marks will align for cylinder number 1 and again for cylinder number 6 do in addition to getting a gear tooth off it’s also easy to get the distributor aligned for number 6 instead of number 1.