Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys I have some questions and can use some pointers. Pleas bear with me as this is my very first time doing anything like this engine clean up wise and I only have experience doing intake swaps and putting brand new engines together and not cleaning up a used one and then putting back together. Sorry for the long post.

I am in the process of trying to clean up my 350 chevy short block and the head gasket surface is next and I already cleaned up the pistons as best as I could. Before I did anything last week when I tore it down to the short block I sprayed some chain lube on the tops of the pistons and cylinder head surface to keep things from rusting.

I cleaned up my pistons one at a time and used Acetone and break cleaner and a bristle brush and clean paper towels to wipe things off as much as I could while cleaning and also microfiber towels.

I tried to keep stuff clean but some of the dirty acetone and brake cleaner got into my piston ring lands from one, when I sprayed it with chain lube the fist time and it sat over the weekend and actually softened up the top layer of gunk on my pistons but left some dark brown residue and a puddle towards the bottom of the cylinders except the one closest to the top.

I kept wiping things up as best as I could and used compressed air to blow things out and even as careful as I was stuff still got down in the piston ring lands.Are they now in danger of causing issues and will be junk now? I turned crankshaft over and wiped down the walls of the cylinders with a clean cloth and then wiped the walls with wd40 to keep them lubed for now. I got some grit still showing up from the cleaning process and got as much as I could blowing it out with air and wiping off the walls.

Is this acceptable while cleaning those off like that? Or did I mess stuff up even worse?