Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Newskool
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this is a fairly basic question but I have never done this before and want to do it right. I just finished putting the transmission back into my 74 nova and all thats left to do is connect the shift linkage up, install a trans cooler and connect the flywheel.

The only problem is the flywheel seems to be far away from the convertor. Its about 1/4 of an inch away. How should I narrow this gap? I heard someone say something about using washers when reinstalling a transmission with an aftermarket converter and I'm guessing this is where?

Also, the person I bought my car off of only put two of the three converter bolts in last time the engine was put in. Is there any specific bolt that I should look for?

Any tips for connecting the thing up? The housing is already bolted to the engine. I made sure not to "force" the transmission up to the engine as I read on the forums here that you can wreck the pump in the tranny doing that.

·
Administrator
18,635 Posts
topdogger said:
Any tips for connecting the thing up? The housing is already bolted to the engine. I made sure not to "force" the transmission up to the engine as I read on the forums here that you can wreck the pump in the tranny doing that.
If you dont have that gap that you are talking about.......that is when you will wreck the pump. It shows that your converter is not in all the way. Sounds like everything is good in yours....Bolt 'er up and away you go.

·
Newskool
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Thanks for all the great news! I will probably end up putting a washer in there since that should put the pump about halfway all the way in and half way out.

Now I have to find a transmission cooler. I have a 2200 stall converter going in so I figure a cheap $60 cooler that sits infront of my rad will work.