Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a newbie, so please bear with me. I have a 69 chevy c10 that does not coolant. This is the question, I fill the radiator to the neck, and start the engine. About a minute later, the radiator starts spitting the new coolant out the overflow, until the radiator is about half full. I just got this truck, so I have no history on it. Can anyone help with where to start, if it maybe a pocket of air, or another problem?

Thanks in advance

Nsayers88

·
wind & fire = guides to power
1,529 Posts
It is a pocket of air alright and it's probably coming from your headgasket.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
There is no coolant in the oil.

Let me specify when I found this problem. I first noticed that the coolant was leaking out when I replaced the water pump. It was leaking on the top of the water pump, most likely it cracked from being in a yard on the coast.

Is it possible that there is a pocket of air somewhere in the path, besides the head.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Leak

Put a pressure tester on the radiator to see if you can find a leak somewhere, even an internal one but I agree with NXS & advanced design you just about described a head gasket problem.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks NXS, advanced design, and Restore60s, I will try a pressure test on the system.

This truck runs great, that is the reason that I don't think that the head gasket is the problem, however that is why I am posting.

Thanks for all your wisdom

·
wind & fire = guides to power
1,529 Posts
Anytime and best of luck! Oh, and keep us updated on what you find.

·
Registered
1,161 Posts