Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Time is short, are you ready?
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know that a few members who are transmission technicians by trade frequent this site, so I am optomistic that you can guide me in the right direction.

I bought a 99' Crown Vic from the company I work for. It only has 97k on the clock. The last guy to drive it told me that it was working fine, no noticable problems. And, I have no reason to not trust the guy who was driving it before they parked it. The car had been sitting for a good six months in the shop yard. The shop foreman told me that they change company car transmission filters/fluid every 50k miles, and to the best of his knowledge, it had only been changed that one time.

I transferred my tag on Friday and took it home. I soon noticed a "jerky" feeling when at light to part throttle. The car feels like it is shifting in and out of gears (2-3 or 3-4) when crusing. Step on it, and it is fine. Perhaps it is the lock-up function going in and out.

I am going to drop the pan and change the filter and fluid. Is there anything else I should look at while the pan is off? Perhaps the lock-up solenoid is all gunked up or something. I am clueless, but thought I might seek some guidence while the pan is off.

Hopefully it is not the converter. I wouldn't think just sitting for 6+ months that it would develop some type of mechanical problem inside the trasmission and/or converter.

Any input will greatly appreciated. Thanks, Ed.

·
Registered
174 Posts
Check your coil first. Our buick regal sputtered at light throttle also. Mostly at cruising speed when you barely get on it and especially under load (uphill).