Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Got Ouzo for touzo
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to building engines, I've built plenty of small power small blocks, but really never ventured into making a big power mill. I will be building a new engine for my new circle track car this winter and I'm gonna need help.

The plan for now is to run a set of Dart Iron Eagle heads (might change) they are a 49cc chamber head 215 runners. I need help understanding the numbers. Now what is the difference in runners? You know 180-215 or any number they run. I would assume it would be how well they flow?

Second, to run a small chamber head like this is there a limit to what pistons you can run? I've never built anything with-out just running a flat-top piston, so I've never dealt with anything larger. There is no limit in the class (for compression anyways) this car will run in, but I would also like something that will be somewhat reliable (like run the 10 events we plan on running with-out a major melt down). I know the majority of guys in this class run 13:1 engines or really close anyways. I understand with running this engine it will run high RPM, 6800-7000 on the majority of tracks. I will need to run screw in studs, guide plates, but is are stud girdles necessary?

If stud girdles are necessary, what all do they entail? Does any machine work need to be done to run them?

I know there might be some stupid questions, but I need to know, and you guys are some of the most knowledgable guys around. So who better to ask? I also probably won't end up putting the engine together, but I will need to be the guy buying the parts.....

bonuts

·
Got Ouzo for touzo
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great link, but really it explained nothing I wanted to know. As I said, I have built numerous engines before just no real high HP engines. None of the specific questions were answered, but it gave a few good tips.

bonuts

·
Premium Member
3,519 Posts