Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm building a th400 and I know how to make it full manual shift, but the only way I know how is with disregarding the modulator valve and front band. I want to keep the band for engine braking and keep modulated oil pressure instead of constant full line pressure. Can anyone tell me how to do the full manual conversion and keep these two features? The instructions on the crankshaft coalition does not cover keeping the modulator and the band.
Thanks in advance.

Nitro

·
Registered
1979 Chevrolet Malibu 496-TH400-9" (cruiser). 1992 Chevrolet S10 355-700r4-7.625" (daily driver).
238 Posts
I'm just a hobbyist here and not really a transmission guy. I can try to explain what I think I know. That TH400 tech post is great! Hopefully one of the authors (Crosley) or any other expert can chime in if I don't have any of this correct.

Do as you would do on the full manual conversion:
-remove governor tubes, plug the holes, drill the bypass hole in the valve body to loop the governor fluid
-the 1-2 shift valve modification (grind the land, plug the exhaust hole)

Do the usual (or your preferred) feed hole sizes, dual feeding the direct, block/restrict 2-3 accumulator, etc. (Not exclusive to just full manual) I was always told to do everything exactly the way that tech post describes the modifications.

Do not modify the boost valve and I don't believe you have to disable the reverse boost circuit.

You end up installing the modulator connected to a vacuum source instead of the aluminum plug to trap the modulator valve.

As far as the engine braking band goes, I assume this was previously omitted when you went to a case saver? I used a Jake's Performance case saver. If you specify your desire to keep the engine braking band they can modify the aluminum case saver to allow for the band. I was told most of the pros can supply the same modified part if you check around.

·
Registered
117 Posts