Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a newbie to the site. I live in south suburbs near Chicago. I have a 34 Ford street rod I am building. It has a five speed Tremec transmission. The bell housing needs to be dial indicated to check runout. I was wondering if anyone has any contacts in the area that I could hire to help complete this task. It is a two man job as the motor in in the car. I have a lift in my garage so easy access.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Aren't there dowel pins in the block? Are you using an adapter or aftermarket bellhousing? What engine?
It would be cheaper to just go to Harbor Freight and buy an indicator and magnetic base. Just stick it on the crank or flywheel, place the indicator feeler on the pilot opening of the bellhousing and zero it out. Rotate the engine, any variance in the reading is your runout.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Aren't there dowel pins in the block? Are you using an adapter or aftermarket bellhousing? What engine?
It would be cheaper to just go to Harbor Freight and buy an indicator and magnetic base. Just stick it on the crank or flywheel, place the indicator feeler on the pilot opening of the bellhousing and zero it out. Rotate the engine, any variance in the reading is your runout.
Thanks for your reply, yes there are dowel pins in the block, they are Lakewood "EZ-Adjustable Bellhousing Dowel Pins" #15907. I have a Lakewood Quick Time Safety Bell Housing on a SBC 383 (Gen 1).
Purchasing an indicator and magnetic base is not an issue. The issue is in order to rotate the crank it has to be done from the front of the motor and so becomes a two man job, one person to watch the indicator and one to strong arm the crank. If there is an adjustment to be made, I would need to know which quadrant on the bellhousing it lies within so a proper adjustment can be made.

·
Registered
432 Posts