Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
AKA Lee in KC
527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I've seen discussions about this before but I couldn't find them. About to refill my coolant system, gonna use 50/50 antifreeze and water. Do I use distilled, spring, drinking, straight out of the hose or what?

Edit: 100% aluminum radiator and water pump, and of course, iron block.

·
Evil Wicked Mean And Nasty
13,765 Posts
I remember seeing a discussion on here to cant find it. But i use straight from the spicket. I remember someone saying use distilled water but i dont know why it matters hmmm need to find that discussion. Cole

·
AKA Lee in KC
527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It seems like I read somewhere that distilled is the worst for promoting Galvanic corrosion. I guess I could Google it, but I'd like to hear some real world experience.

·
Registered
792 Posts
I have been using 50/50 prestone/distilled water since 1985 and my radiators don't give me trouble. I don't prestone flush anymore; seems like waste of time and money. If I start seeing the coolant is looking dirty, I drain it (from engine block and raditor) then replace with new. I have a 1964 1/2 mustang radiator I had serviced during engine build about 15 years ago; I use distilled H2O/prestone. Radiator and heater core still work great.

Before 1985 I used 50/50 prestone/tap H20 and prestone flushed about once per year;I was always having problems with radiators and heater cores plugging up. Rate of scaling will depend on your local tap H2O.

My Dad still uses tap water and I recently had to have his 1966 Radiator recored because his truck started getting hot on interstate.

I bought a new motorcycle in 1990 with an aluminum engine. I have changed the coolant twice. I used 50/50 prestone/distilled water. Radiator works like new.