Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm building a 393 Cleveland to go into my 70 Cougar, using a cast steel Scat 9000 3.85" stroke crank, a set of Eagle SBC 6" I-beams, and SRP pistons... I bought a full set of Clevite 77 H-series bearings for the rods, mains, and cam, and now after pokin' around a couple forums am wondering if I shoulda went with the P's. I'm building this motor up at my uncle's speed shop, and I'm no pro, should I have gone with a more forgiving bearing? I told my uncle to order me what bearings he thought'd do the best job for me (shift at 6500, he's an old dirt car racer, ran SBC's), and he said the H's would be good for this, but I've been told that they aren't very forgiving

·
Administrator
6,247 Posts
The "H" series Clevites are just a little harder and have a provision for a radius-ed crank journal. If anything, they're tougher. Why anyone would consider them '...less forgiving' I don't understand. Not to mention they're about twice the price of the "P" bearings.

You have excellent bearings.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Good to hear, I was just worryin' myself.

As far as being more forgiving, someone told me that they need a better machining job and tighter tolerances than the P-series. Just everything needed to be a bit more "dead on". I'm not sure if the Scat crank is radiused or not (don't even know what "radiused" means when talking about a crank), but looking quick at their site here it says the 9000 cast series is modeled after their forged cranks, which are radiused. I was surprised how much they costed, but I figured since I don't have to pay markup it'd come out a wash, 'bout same as if I bought the cheaper bearings from Summit.

·
Registered
2,240 Posts
You have the correct bearings. Since your crank is radiused you need to use the "h" series bearing.