Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
5,387 Posts
Hook up a rad, fuel line from container to carb And crank it up to 2500 rpm for 10minutes.
Assuming you have a carb that is.
Charged battery will be good for 10 minutes too.

·
Registered
706 Posts
I'm no expert by any means. But I did a bunch of research last week before I fired my second engine rebuild ever. With a roller cam breaking that in is not really an issue, the thing that's really important is getting the Rings to seat. This is best done in a car, or on a dyno. But others will chime in about it being done successfully on an engine stand..

·
Registered
5,387 Posts
The rpm is not for cam break in, it’s for adequate oil splash on parts that get lubed by splash. Like the cam, pushrods, rockers, valve tips.
In the car break in is just like on a stand.

·
Registered
1,198 Posts
The rpm is not for cam break in, it’s for adequate oil splash on parts that get lubed by splash. Like the cam, pushrods, rockers, valve tips.
In the car break in is just like on a stand.
Don't forget the pistons &wrist pins . also , if the finish hone is correct & the materials in today's rings , break in is pretty much immediate !

·
True Hotrodder
1,141 Posts
To answer the original question. Yes.

Should you? Depends on your experience level.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Hook up a rad, fuel line from container to carb And crank it up to 2500 rpm for 10minutes.
Assuming you have a carb that is.
Charged battery will be good for 10 minutes too.
What about how long should I let it idle before I crank it up to 2500? Does it matter? And is this all i need to do to increase cylinder pressure to seat the rings?

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #11