Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got the Thunderbird when I was a sophomore in high school and have upgraded a few parts but for the most part its stock. I’ve had some trouble with overheating and can’t figure out what it is. I’ve read on some threads that a 460 might be a good option. Since its a heavy girl torque is a must. Wondering what opinions you guys might have?

·
More for Less Racer
20,929 Posts
What is the current engine, and are you trying to keep the stock transmission??

I'm guessing the car has a FE motor, probably a 390"??
If so, only another FE will bolt to that transmission.

·
Registered
159 Posts
In a 65 Bird you could have any engine you wanted as long as it was a 390:<) Not sure why you have over heating issues, my 65 390 is .030 over and has never over heated, that's here in AL. It will idle all day long in traffic. There are only three suspects for your issue assuming all is well with tune-up, timing and fuel supply. Water pump, clutch fan or radiator.

While the 460 is a good low end power maker I believe it is a touch too wide to fit between the fender wells. They come with C-6 which will present no fitment problems going in where the FOM currently sits.

·
Registered
1964 Thunderbird, 390 FE
263 Posts