Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a first time builder, I have a myriad of questions. One is this. Due to my limited amount of space for my exhaust system, what are the pros/cons of a 3-4 foot section of flexible stainless tubing, welded to a flange that would be bolted directly to my exhaust manifolds and then ran to my mufflers. If this is acceptable, it sure would save me a ton of muffler shop visits to have exhaust pipe bent exactly the way I want.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Flex tubing isn't really a long term solution IMO.
Can you weld, or at least tack weld and have someone else finish weld?
Get some mandrel bends and cut/fit/tack what you need.
I've built a couple sets of headers like that, it's actually more enjoyable than it looks.
A couple down pipes from manifolds would be pretty easy.
Automotive exhaust Bicycle part Nickel Auto part Pipe

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Flex tubing isn't really a long term solution IMO.
Can you weld, or at least tack weld and have someone else finish weld?
Get some mandrel bends and cut/fit/tack what you need.
I've built a couple sets of headers like that, it's actually more enjoyable than it looks.
A couple down pipes from manifolds would be pretty easy.
View attachment 626174
I can do what I call, "Bugger Welding". Nothing I would trust. In my case, I am running Hooker exhaust manifolds. On the driver side, I don't have a lot of room, boing down, fro the frame to manifold. What kind of an allowable bend, degree wise, would be acceptable in that case? Or, is there a rule of thumb?

·
Registered
115 Posts