Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Delta Alpha Tango Juliet
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to get the valve guides (and I think I need the spring seats cut also (never delt with heads before)) on my vortec heads to handle a higher lift.

What is a rough estimate of a fair price I should be willing to accept?

I've never delt with a machine shop before so I wouldn't know. I would buy the Comp Cams cutting tools but this is my first time messing with heads and i'd much rather practice on a bad set of heads. From what i've heard, this city has a bad reputation for shop rip offs...and I'm not even kidding. I've only lived here 5 months so I don't KNOW any good places. Was going to check around but don't know whats an acceptable price.

·
Registered
12,338 Posts
check around anyways.I would not put a lot of money into Vortec castings,might be a better deal to buy new Vortecs that are modified and ready to go or better yet just buy better heads for a bit more

·
Delta Alpha Tango Juliet
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So you think it would be better/cheaper to buy more heads than to just get the guides cut on my current heads? The heads I have now have less than 80k on them. I just wanted to clear up to maybe a .550 lift or so since I don't know what size aftermarket cam is in my new engine. Previous owner said it was a pretty big one, waaaay over stock. Not trying to hog the heads out or have them lifting at .600+.. If I need to purchase the parts then so be it. I just want them cut for a little more lift. Just don't want to accept a crap price from these shops.

What do you guys pay for such machine work?

·
The mobile view is crap
1,876 Posts
What lift is the cam? If your gonna increase max lift of the cam there are spring/lock/retainer combos that can be installed to get up around .550" lift cam with no machine work. Depending on the lift and ramp rate of your camshaft you may want to install screw in rocker studs which can be done at home also.