Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a '64 Mercury Montclair Marauder I'm trying to build up. All the mechanicals were original when I bought the car 2 years ago, including the rear.

It's a Ford 9" rear with a 3.00 gear, no trac-lok. I have someone looking at it (I don't live in the same state as the car anymore) because I want to put a 3.89 in which is in line with my overall goal for the car. What he's telling me is that the carrier is only good to for up to a 3.50 gear so to do a 3.89 we need to upgrade the casting.

Does that sound right? I'm pretty new to doing this kind of stuff to cars so any help/advice is appreciated.

·
Premium Member
4,097 Posts
A ford 9" carrier will accept any of the available gear ratios. Some of the bigger gears (4.11 and up),may require some minor clearancing done on the pinion end support webbing, depending on the case, but those 3.89 gears will bolt right in.

I think your guy is thinking of another rear end.

In the knowledge base here, in the rear end section, there is a table showing common carrier breaks of various manufacturers.

Here is a link to that page for you:
http://ring-pinion.com/content/technicalhelp/default.asp?pid=129

Here is another very good web page devoted to the 9" ford.
http://www.kevinstang.com/Ninecase.htm

Hope this helps, Mikey

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Mikey!

That is interesting and just the kind of info I'm looking for. Just to be totally clear that I understand what is being said I've cut and pasted the relevant part of his email:

We will have to change the carrier or drop out casting this casting is where the ratio change is made. The carrier in your car is up to 350 ratio. If we are going to 389 which I think is the way to go also, we need to change the casting it just makes sense to upgrade to a nodular.