Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I picked up a box full of high quality compression fittings at a tag sale. They're all Parker and Weathertite. I realize these should never be used on a brake line but what's the thinking on fuel lines (5-9 psi)? I have some with brass ferrules and some with nylon.

·
More for Less Racer
19,368 Posts
Brass ferrules are just fine on steel or NiCopp hard line...they'll even work on aluminum fuel line if you are careful when tightening....go to far and crush it too much and you'll have to cut the end of the line and ferrule off and start again with aluminum.

·
Registered
80 Posts
I don't use them for anything automotive.
When I used to be a government inspection tech, these were a complete no no on fuel and brake, government safety guidelines in my province.

Yes people have use them with no problems - Insert " I never had a problem with them" but I cant count how many times in my career I have seen leaky/seaping compression fittings, brake, fuel, or oil.

To each his own.

Sent from my SM-T590 using Tapatalk

·
Gotta love a turbo!
2,641 Posts
I don't use them for anything automotive.
When I used to be a government inspection tech, these were a complete no no on fuel and brake, government safety guidelines in my province.

Yes people have use them with no problems - Insert " I never had a problem with them" but I cant count how many times in my career I have seen leaky/seaping compression fittings, brake, fuel, or oil.

To each his own.