Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am completely new to the AN-6 fittings and I am looking to run Nylon lines on my 41 buick. I have a Tuned Port SBC in it and I was looking to relocate the route of the fuel lines using AN-6 fittings. Every kit I fond has braided nylon hose with it, but I was looking to use the non braided lines I already have. Is this possible to do? DO the AN-6 fittings work both with/without the braided covering? This is the only thing holding my up from getting my car started here soon. Thanks in advance for any info. Im currently at work, but will try to respond as soon as possible.

·
Registered
216 Posts
If you're talking about solid nylon tubing, the only fittings I've seen used with it in industrial applications are compression type fittings and push fit fittings. The only AN fittings I'm aware of that use compression connections for the tube are for Teflon hoses with braiding. I'm not sure these would be the correct dimensions for the internal diameter of the nylon tube.

Even though the fuel system is fairly low pressure compared to some industrial applications, make sure the connections are absolutely correct mechanically. You sure don't want a fuel hose to blow off with 40 lbs of pressure.

Also, I would want some type of braided shield on the tube. The tube isn't very good at abrasion resistance.

·
Magazines have “ISSUES”
995 Posts
AN-6 makes a small fuel line, is this from the pump too carb or from tank too pump.

AN fittings are designed for the wall thickness of the braided line. Building a fuel system; tank too pump AN-10, pump too carb; AN-8, you want fuel volume.

41 buick, I can tell you this, it not having 40 psi as fuel pressure unless we are talking FI

Greg

·
Registered
216 Posts
I have a Tuned Port SBC
This would indicate approx. 40 psi.