Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an artist who enjoys illustrating hot rods. More specifically, traditional, old school rods. You know, white walls, old paint, rust, padlocks on doors, Chevy rearends with flathead v8s. The kind of driveway engineering that made this hobby into the national obsession that it is today. What I would really like to draw, are the truly odd aspects of hot rod fabrication. For example; Dropping a car so low, that the dash must be frenched, in order to accommodate the shifter lever. Or using a three pulley system just to actuate the throttle. These are some of the things people are doing, and it blows me away every time I go to a show. One guy actually had a straight metal wire running through his windshield to the choke. That's how he used it. Iv'e wrenched on cars all my life, but Iv'e never done anything as outrageous as some of these folks. As an artist, I try to depict the illusion of "what if" engineering, and I can come up with some off the wall stuff, but what some of you are doing for real, just blows me away. Hats off to ya.

·
Lost in the 60's
15,245 Posts
Welcome to Hotrodders.....we are glad to have you with us. :welcome:

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank You

Thank you for the welcome, all of you. I am trying to upload some artwork, but I'm having a hard time of it. It's either something with the files, or the computer actuator. OK, I can get one to load, the rest are too large in file size, so I'll have to figure out how to get around that. I'm pretty knew at this stuff. Anyway, the resolution is not very good on this, but let me know what you think. The medium is pen and ink, it's entitled; This Is My Desk.

Inkwork

Attachments

·
Registered
7,045 Posts
That's a great piece!!! :thumbup: :thumbup: Nice dropped bolt eye view.