Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi
I am new to hot rodding and am building a roadster of 20's style. I have just found out that I can fit any small block or inline engine but don't have any idea or preference what to use.

I want reliability, relaxed street driving, easy highway cruising, easy installation. All for about $5000 without the shiny bits ( I will do all the work myself). Although I do plan on dressing the engine up quite a bit later on.

My question is what combo of parts would you use and what ratio trans and rear axle would be most recommended? I know I am going to get a bunch of different answers but I am hoping there might be a general consensus!

Thanks for taking the time to answer.

Tires are 32" OD

·
Registered
5,653 Posts
It is a matter of your preferences ... :)

Most anything can be made to fit. The SBC is the common choice. Easy to find, easy to work on ... plenty of power ... and the parts availability is unsurpassed. :cool:

I would stay away from weird combos " just to be different "
I have heard all the comments and statements about " I am tired of seeing SBC's in everything " ... but the fact is ... they work :rolleyes: Breakdown on I-77 in West Virginia @ midnight with a dead fuel pump ... and see how soon you fix it with a early Olds, Pontiac, Studebaker or other " different " engine.

On the way to the NSRA Nationals in Columbus Ohio ... back in the 80's ... I had the SBC mechanical fuel pump quit. It was midnight ... by 3 o'clock in the morning ... I had found a used SBC fuel pump, had installed it myself ... washed my hands, had a cup of coffee and was back on the road ... TRUE STORY ...

·
Registered
7,045 Posts