Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Painted a car today with single stage black,didn't use hardener just reducer. Can I still wet sand and buff out orange peel, or just use a rubbing compound. It was dulipcolor from Napa .I've never used it before got a good deal decided to give it a try. thanks in advance for any help. :confused:

·
Paintshop Dog
404 Posts
In my opinion, you will need to wait about 3 months before color-sanding and buffing. And, because you didn't use any hardener :confused: (should have) it is going to be a bit gummy to sand. Try using a bit of dish soap in your sanding water. This seems to help brake down the cut and prevent bogging up the paper a bit.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know I listened to the guy at the paint store,stupid me :boxing: .So theres no way to use rubbing or polishing compound now, or still have to wait 3 months.

·
Paintshop Dog
404 Posts
I'd hang loose for a while, but you need to realize that just rubbing it wont help you will need to cut it with fine sand paper to change the texture.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yeah, I'll just wait. It was a lesson well learn , I'll do more research next paint. Thanks for the info, you saved me from more mistakes.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Can I still wet sand and buff out orange peel
I did an older Honda for my mom last December and used el cheapo single stage (like 80 bucks for paint and reducer :drunk: ) and the reducer flashed so quick I was mixing it like water to lay it down. After a couple of months I wet sanded with 1000 and polished and it looks pretty decent (way better than before). Hope this helps.

·
Registered
3,591 Posts
colormecrazy said: