Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Apparently flat tappet hydraulic lifters are no longer made in the US, and I'm not sure if Delphi makes them in their Mexico plant anymore. I've been running Summit brand lifters in a 350 Chevy for 15+ years and many thousands of miles with no issues at all. Not even a tick-tick-tick at cold startup.

So, what's my best source these days for stock small block Chevy lifters?

·
Registered
4,469 Posts
With the whole covid shortage its hard to get a lot of things off and on depending on supply and If I am correct there is only perhaps one manufacture who makes lifters in the U.S. but maybe two at the most. I know there is only one cam maker left and there is shortages in cam cores as well. All I know is the flat tappet lifters that folks want and recommend is the ones with a special hardened bottom on them and I don't know who makes them and it may be Delphi but I don't think they make stuff in the U.S. as I bought a set of hydraulic OEM roller lifters from summit and they used to be American made and now there made in Mexico. Hopefully with some more info can come in and chime in but be aware there are some lifter brands that say made in the USA but the parts are from Mexico and just assembled here. Same with a lot of other parts.

·
Registered
4,469 Posts
I don't think they are American made any more but these are the ones many folks recommend for hydraulic stuff on the flat tappet cams since they have a special hardened foot on them. Below is the comp cam ones to which are the same lifters made by the same company from what I have read but I can't confirm it but they are the same exact thing with the hardened foot on the bottom and says made in USA but take that with a grain of salt.

·
Registered
14,748 Posts