Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
EFI Rules and Carbs Drool
919 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I see post all the time on boards and ads on ebay too that say a car was painted with 6, 8, 10 coats or more of this or that paint.

Huh? With the new paint today, do more coats of paint actually make it look any better? I put on 4 coats of yellow when I did my T bucket, but they were light coats and I had no runs. You could see through the second coat a little, the third would have been fine, but the fourth was just good insurance. Same with clear, you need enough to buff, but will it really look any better with 10 coats of clear? I used PPG DBC on the T Bucket and I'm going to use the same for the Mustang.

3,214 Posts
I am not a paint expert, but here is my take. The thicker the film build, the more prone to chipping.

You need as many coats of base as required to achieve full coverage of the undercoat. Once spraying the clear, it will depend on the clear used, and the finish. I have seen some clears that get cloudy when it gets too thick. It will also cause problems with adheasion if they are all sprayed at the same time. You can spray 2-3 coats, wetsand, and then spray 2-3 more coats. Wetsanding between the shooting steps will reduce the film build, remove dust nibs, and flatten the surface of orange and urethane peel.

Aaron

·
point on positive
1,680 Posts
I am a paint expert but what do i know? :D Remember a wet coat is 2 passes with the gun moving about 1 foot a second from about 8 inches away. so what some think is a coat is really a half coat...
if your not needing to buff then 2 coats or 4 passes is all thats needed. If you plan on buffing then add 2 more passes or a third full wet coat.

·
Registered
2,071 Posts