Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am a new to using an HVLP gun and it shows. I have sprayed a few times in the past with a Sharp siphon gun for the most part I was happy with the results.... * I am a hobbyist that only paints once in a year or so it is hard to figure out what is going on without spraying regularly. I have painted a few cars over the years with good results but this hvlp gun makes me look like a kid messing around. VERY Disappointed.....
*I need some advice on gun setup.....
Today I sprayed with a Central Pneumatic HVLP gun Item 69705 it supposed to be capable of spraying with good results. However, I have used it twice in the last couple years and both times ended up with runs. The pattern looks good I am going at the same speed I would with Siphon gun but it appears to need me to go much faster as I have runs all over the fender.

Spraying: Nason single stage full cryl acrylic enamel gloss black...
Settings:
-40 psi at gun with trigger pulled
-Air knob: on bottom of gun opened all the way... (Does this sound correct)
-Fluid knob: this is the one I am concerned with I had it opened 3 full turns from in all the way. It will turn 5.5 full turns total. I am guessing I need to close the fluid knob to around 1.5 turns open to cut down on the volume of paint?

It sprayed on and looked good but a little heavy/thick. I walked away and came back and all of these runs had started that were not there just after spraying they took a while to form....

Thanks loosing my mind....

·
Banned
5,557 Posts
With HVLP the technique is different. Very close, very fast. This requires being more mindful of fan adjustment, overlap, and patterning. And reducer selection. An experienced guy might adjust technique to suit and spray OK on your settings. Or might watch you spray and know how to adjust the gun.