Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
noobie

Hi, i just recently traded for what i think is a 350 motor. The block number is 3970010, I was wondering what year this could of came out, and what kind of power it had stock. Also im not sure what this means, but above the oil filter their is some number the first set of number is 110 or 118. secound set is 386 and the third set is 371. As you can tell im new at this so all help is very appreciated Thanks.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I need to know more about this engine?

I have a few more question regarding this engine that i traded for. Does this block # 3970010 have a good reputation or are they known for cracking? Also I just pulled the heads from this engine#14102193 are they vortex? If so or not are they good for a built 350

·
Registered
15,340 Posts
84chevys said:
I have a few more question regarding this engine that i traded for. Does this block # 3970010 have a good reputation or are they known for cracking? Also I just pulled the heads from this engine#14102193 are they vortex? If so or not are they good for a built 350
The block is the excellent heavy duty 4 inch bore block that been used for the 302, 327 and 350 high performance and heavy duty engines for many years.

The heads are the swirl port 350 heads they are not Vortec heads. Good is in the eye of your intentions, excellent bottom end grunt heads so if you need good fuel mileage, good towing torque, and will use the engine under 4500 RPM these are your puppies, if you want more top end they aren't. Keep in mind that Chevy changed the angle of the 4 center intake manifold bolts in 1987 up to the end of Gen 1 production in 1999 from a 90 degree angle with the port face to a 72 degree angle. Manifolds and heads across this barrier are different, year of intake and head need to match unless you're good at machining.

Bogie

·
Premium Member
11,051 Posts
84chevys said: