Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning on installing a Heidt crossmember in my 1947 Mercury Coupe. Are there any probelms with this crossmember I should know about and what is the proper way in install this piece? Also, how far back from the front of the rails is the member mounted? I am new to this hobby and need all the help I can get.

·
Registered
2,354 Posts
Welcome, Cool Merc. Heidts should provide you with the installation instructions. There are some things they may or may not tell you, so I will hit some high spots. First, get yourself a couple of pieces of angle iron and tack across the top and bottom of the frame at the very front so this width does not change. Second, use jack stands to level the frame. Third, remove the old front end including the steering sector and the bracket that you bolt it to. Fourth, remove the front cross member by removing the rivets. Make sure you back the frame/cross member right beside the rivet you are hitting on, or there will be too much spring to get it to move. Fifth, box your frame. Heidts kits should include the boxing plates. You may want to weld in some nut plates for your inner fenders before you do this. Now to your question of locating the cross member. The instructions should tell you how, but I always use the hole in the bottom of the frame that the old I beam axle bumper is bolted into. You want to center your cross member on it. There are other holes in the bottom of the frame back near where the front part of the x member joins the side rails and also on the bottom ot the frame a few inches back from the front. I use these to recheck my centering work on the bumper holes. Don't rely on any measurement from the frame end.

Trees

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3