Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Member# 3287
2,625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In one of my more crafty purchases, I procured what I thought was a set of standard rebuilt 5.7 rods off EBay.

Well, they arrived today and they're for floating pins...I never asked the seller...dumb,dumb,dumb.

Anyway, I've been scouting for pistons and found that KB has reasonably priced hypereutectic pistons that apparently will work with both pressed and floating rods.

Anyone used these? Their ad says the pistons come with the spiral locks, but I don't remember seeing anything about the pins. Would they be different than the pressed pins?

Please excuse me, but I have zero experience with floating rods.

·
Hotrodders.com Moderator
2,783 Posts
pistons

The KB pistons come with pins, and spiral-locks. The pins are the same for a pressed or floated rods. The rods that you bought are the small ends fitted with bronze bushings???

There are alot of opinions about the KB pistons out there. One thing for sure they will not tolerate and kind of detonation. So you will need to keep a eye on your tune up. The other thing that gets many people in trouble is the top ring gap. Follow there instructions. I actually make my top gaps .002" or so over the top of the tolerance. I have maybe 10-12 engines out there with these pistons and only 1 failure ( because of detonation) I built a 440 mopar with the KB pistons. It's around 525 hp and is now around 3 years old.....still running good....

Keith

·
Registered
358 Posts