Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone use a rear leaf spring setup from mid 70's car/truck on their early 30's late 20's hotrods? im new to hotrodding and i was looking around for some ideas, and i couldn't find any info on the subject, all i found was that some of you guys would run just a single leaf spring in the rear, which would be mounted sideways..but i didn't find much info about that either. any info would help. thx guys/girls.

·
Hotrodders.com moderator
9,581 Posts
Suspension setups

Fellows run just about any kind of suspension setup you can imagine on those things..What ever the builder/owner thinks will work and/or look neat..

We used the cross leaf because Henry built them that way..ans the croos leaf gives a neat trim look..

Do what ever works for you..:D

·
Registered
3,925 Posts
There might be a problem or two. I just pulled the rear leaves off an 81 F-150 and did a little reading up on them. There are three potential problems that I see in converting it to a cross leaf.

1) The perchs on late model trucks are not always centered. In other words the distance from the perch to the rear eye is longer than the distance from the perch to the front eye. This means the centering hole (which lines up the leafs in the "stack") will not end up in the center of your cross leaf setup and therefore the "stack" (how the leaves are set on top of one another) will not end up in the center of you cross member. And when you start moving the upper leaves left or right you quickly discover problem number 2.