Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a small block chevy with the factory hydraulic roller cam.

I have been fighting a lifter ticking problem for a couple of months now and have decided that my problem is a lack of adequate oil supply to the lifters. I have tried lots of things and this is all that I can think of is left.

My question is:

Can the rear cam bearing or rear oil galley plugs be installed in such a way as to restrict oil flow to the lifters?

·
Registered
3,441 Posts
As roys63 pointed out, we need more details. I fought something similiar a little while back and ended up having a plugged oil passage in the block.

Chris

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
The noise is coming from both sides, the engine is freshly rebuilt, and the oil pressure is 45 psi at hot idle.

The engine is pretty guiet when it is first started cold but as it starts to warm up it start to make noise.

I can give lots of information but I was affraid it would bore everybody to death but here goes.

1. Fresh rebuild using late style roller block.
2. Block bored, line honed, cleaned, freeze plugs and cam bearing intalled by reputible machine shop
3. New GM ZZ4 cam 208/221 @ .477/.509
4. Matching ZZ4 GM vavle springs and rockers (non-roller)
5. GM factory roller timing chain.
6. All bearing checked for clearance and clearnaces are on tight side of specs
7. Used set of vortec heads machined for higher lift (valve seats and guides look good)
8. Flat top 4VR pistons w/ .025 deck height
9. New Hi-volume oil pump
10 New comp cams hi-energy hydraulic roller lifters

Things I have tired:

1. Adjusted valves several times both hot and cold, with engine runing and off, and at 1/4 1/2 3/4 and 1 turns from zero lash.
2. Replaced lifters 3 times with both new comp cams and a good low mileage set of factory GM
3. Replaced fuel pump
4. Checked and tightened header bots (not loose)