Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7,980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I suspected the flywheel came loose on my little bugg...three of the four dowel holes in the crank and flywheel are slightly wollowed....I was thinking mabee I could JB weld them back in and the glue will fill the voids... then use loc tight on the big center bolt...sound good? Next ...I noticed oil between the pressure plate and clutch ..looked closer and the rear seal looks to be leaking a little...it looks ez to pull out and replace.....is it? this is my first time working on a bugg and it aint as ez as everyone said but after four hours this morning its all tore down I'd like to get it back together tomorrow

·
Steel Dreams
323 Posts
deadbodyman said:
As I suspected the flywheel came loose on my little bugg...three of the four dowel holes in the crank and flywheel are slightly wollowed....I was thinking mabee I could JB weld them back in and the glue will fill the voids... then use loc tight on the big center bolt...sound good? Next ...I noticed oil between the pressure plate and clutch ..looked closer and the rear seal looks to be leaking a little...it looks ez to pull out and replace.....is it? this is my first time working on a bugg and it aint as ez as everyone said but after four hours this morning its all tore down I'd like to get it back together tomorrow
If the holes are wallowed in both the crank and the fly wheel it is doubtful that you will be able to make it stay tight. I have had luck in the past by changing the fly wheel to one that was not elongated and new gland nut, cleaning every thing and locktiting everything . If I remember right the gland nut is torqued to 200 foot pounds.This is usually the problem in the first place.It is not tightened enough the last time it was pulled and it will work lose.If the dowel holes in the crank elongate you usually wind up changing the crank.............but sometimes you get lucky.