Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 85 Baja 190 Sunsport with a 5.0L Mercruiser engine that I am rebuilding. The engine currently uses a Thunderbolt IV ignition system. While rebuilding the engine I am planning on installing a larger duration and lift cam, different intake manifold, and a 4 barrel carburetor. My question is with the installation of the performance parts, is the existing ignition system capable of maintaining the proper amount of advance thru out the rpm range? Or does the advance curve within the ignition module need to be change and if so how do I change it?

·
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
5,617 Posts
Wow... I'm building an 83 Baja 190 Sunsport. What a coincidence :)

I'm learning the requirements for marine stuff, so I'm no expert, but unlike cars, boats have no vacuum advance. I would say it should be fine, and if it isn't, buy a tuning kit and swap for slightly earlier curves with lighter springs.

That stock thunderbolt probably has all of the curve in by 3000 or so. You might want to experiment with having it all in by 2500, but I wouldn't go much lower than that.

Be really careful with the cam selection. I'm sure you already know about it, but I've just gone through two months of a really fast learning curve if you want to chat about it.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info on the ignition.Any additional information you could pass on pertaining to cam selection and other engine parts, it would be greatly appreciated.

What are your plans for your 83 sunsport?

·
Registered
7,334 Posts
just remember, the carb needs to be a marine carb and it needs a spark arrestor. also if you change the ignition, get a marine distributor.

·
5,617 Posts
Yup, marine distributor, starter, air intake, alternator, all a must. Cams are a bit of a trouble area. Just like in a car, the whole kit and kaboodle has to be tuned together.