Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to rebuilding engines, but I have an Olds 403 out of a 1978 Buick Lesabre Landau (two door) that I am having to rebuild, so I plan on going all out and go hot rod with it. What I really need to know is what parts are interchangable between Olds and Chevy motors..i.e can I use a 350 (or what ever) cam in it,
Also have a 87 Olds 307 out of a Cutlass that I want to speed up a bit, also needing rebuild..but a quick one..

·
Member - AMC/Rambler "guru"
1,781 Posts
Well, you have an easy question -- NONE!! The 403 is an Olds engine through and through, no interchange with Chevy parts. You should be able to find Olds parts easy enough, especially things like cams. If you're putting it back in that boat don't go to big with a cam. You'll need something with lots of low end torque to get decent take-off, especially if you keep the stock rear gears. Go with an RV type cam (more low and mid range power instead of high rpm hp numbers) and a decent aluminum intake with 650-750 cfm carb. The smaller carb will give you better low end torque and snappier throttle response because the air velocity is higher (faster) than a carb with larger holes. Since you won't be turning the 403 to fast it will work fine and only limit top end somewhat, but not enough to be a real driving limiting factor (you don't plan on cruising much over 110 mph or so, right?? :nono: )