Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well i have a 390 and i was wondering since i've heard that the bigger ford motors have some interchangeability ... haha i thinks thats a word. i was wondering if i could fit 351 Cleavland high flowing heads on it? Im new to things and have no clue if its possible and if so what would be the stipulations.

Bill

·
Registered
157 Posts
Yep....you'll need to stick to the FE style heads.

·
brains
1,009 Posts
I think the only interchangable part is the distributor. The cleveland heads wont work, the clevelands have a 4.38 bore spacing and the 390's have a 4.63

Ben

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
another question

Has any one ever heard anything bad about 390 heads . When i say bad i mean , are they prone to warping or anything bad. This motor is in a vehicle that i would like to buy. The owner says the head gasket is leaking and its not a big deal. There's oil (dirty grime etc.) on the side of the offending head. A friend and auto shop owner said it may be the gasket or warpage. Also the owner of the car says the 2v carb is sending too much fuel when in 4th gear. Now i cant see what gear your in makes any difference in how the carb is working.

thanks bill

·
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
5,122 Posts
[QUOTE="70" Cougar]Has any one ever heard anything bad about 390 heads . When i say bad i mean , are they prone to warping or anything bad. This motor is in a vehicle that i would like to buy. The owner says the head gasket is leaking and its not a big deal. There's oil (dirty grime etc.) on the side of the offending head. A friend and auto shop owner said it may be the gasket or warpage. Also the owner of the car says the 2v carb is sending too much fuel when in 4th gear. Now i cant see what gear your in makes any difference in how the carb is working.

thanks bill[/QUOTE]
Surface the heads before reinstalling. Check the block with a straight edge for warping.