·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Engine: Small Block Chevy 350 stock except for
1 5/8 truck headers(I think)
performer rpm
edelbrock air cleaner and filter

I have recently put these items on the engine and it has boosted the power to some degree. I took off the a/c compressor at the same time so that acounts for some of the power increase. The stock hp rating from the chiltons manual is 160hp and 260 torque. What would be a good guess of the power rating now with these upgrades?

My next question is on what to do next. I would like to either get a better cam or rebuild my existing heads or buy newer heads. What would be the most logical next step: A CAM--OR HEADS? Or if I have missed something that could use replaced or improved tell me what it is?

I am new to chevy engines so I still have a ton of specifics learn, but this site has helped a ton already. Thanks

·
Registered
722 Posts
Go down to Houchins on Taylorsville Rd. Talk to Carl about a set of SR Torquers from World or a set of 180 Darts. Best bang for the buck bolt on.

Chris

·
Premium Member
2,370 Posts
Other than bolt on's, heads and cam pretty much ARE your power and this is where most of your time researching, and money spend should be focused on. I am not saying you have to go and buy the most expesive stuff, but you will see the most gains based off your cam and head selection (not considering a blower or nitrous as they give you some great bang for you buck too lol).

When selecting such items (or any item for your ride actually) just keep asking yourself what you want your truck to do. It is an all out racer . . . a cruiser . . . a weekend toy? What sort of gears does it have?

Once you know what you want, more people can chime in with the best options.

My vote is to first make sure you have a well working ignition system and make sure everything is in good condition . . . and then think about some heads and a new cam.

·
Registered
182 Posts