Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
©®™
1,306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Muncie is making a clattering noise in my Corvette.

I just rebuilt it and must have missed something. I've rebuilt a Muncie a while back on my old Camaro so I'm not an expert but have some experience with them. The Camaro one I did came out fine.

It sounds like something is rattling loosely against the case. It's quite loud but doesn't do it all the time. I sure can't find anything wrong on the outside, so it must be coming from the inside. But it is such a clanging rattle, it sounds like it is coming from the outside.

It's most noticeable in 3rd and 4th gears at slow speeds and seems to do it whether the car is under power or coasting. It does not make a noise in sitting in neutral.
When I'm rolling, I can't hear it when I let off and push in the clutch either.

I just put the rear on blocks under the shock mounts so the geometry of the rear would be as running. Using a stethoscope, the noise is loudest on the transmission and non existent on the rear end housing. I can hear it on the bell housing but not aa loud as the transmission. Other than the noise, the tranny seems normal.

I put new synchros, new front and rear main shaft bearings, and new reverse gear on top of the small parts kit. The end play in the cluster gear was within specs. It's also all new is the clutch, throw-out bearing, pilot bushing, pressure plate with a resurfaced flywheel.

My next thing to do before pulling the tranny back out is to put it up on jackstands and pull the driveshaft and then run it to make sure it's not the front U-joint making the noise. I don't think it is that though since the I just put in a whole new driveshaft and U-joints when I did the tranny.

Any educated guesses what I have done wrong?

·
©®™
1,306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks Vince. I suspect you may be right.
I got the overhaul kit from Transmission Exchange out of Portland.
http://www.txchange.com/