Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found an 84 Camaro Z28 with only 67 thousand miles on it for a good deal from a friend.. so i bought it. I noticed that the 305 compared to the 350 is is considerably less effective. On top of this all.. its an automatic which lowers the horsepower even more! Im kinda new to this whole thing, but i want to get some power into the engine.. it already has a four-barrel carb. and a V8 with dual exhaust ( which i think is standard right?). I was looking into a better exhaust system and an air intake system, but havnt had to much luck.. Is this car worth putting money into it has only 67K on it? I would like some tips on some things i could to to boost some horsepower.. Any help would be great!!

·
Not Considered a Senior Member
10,722 Posts
No, it don`t have factory dual exhaust, it has 2 pipes that run into a single pipe into the cat converter, a single pipe all the way back to the muffler, which comes out into 2 tail pipes, chevy`s been doing this since the 70`s. there`s a little you can do with a 305 to help it make more power, but it is limited so to speak, unless you want to spend more money to get there, you won`t spend half as much on a 350 to get the same results. The F body cars are heavy, and starting out the best bang for the buck is rear gears. afterwards there are more mods you can do, or you can step up to a 350. Rather or not the car is worth putting money into is entirely your choice.

·
http://teamrfc.gospelcom.net
1,742 Posts