Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
n00b going to do a break in... [Update!]

[Update, break in seemed to have gone ok :D see last post.]

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to engines, and where I live I couldn't find lots of stuff like the zinc additive and such.

this is the second time this engine is going to be started as the first my mechanic did a misinstall of the rearmost cambearing and oilpressure wouldn't even touch 20psi, but after a lengthy reswap that's fine now. (up to 60psi oil)

Anyway, we did the first few short test runs (not idle but higher at 1800) today on the engine (with the good oil pressure after priming) and came across a few issues, probably familiar to most of you guys.

1: engine seems to run HOT after a minute or 2-3. 50/50 coolant/water and fanshroud on, but is in the garage. The new Tempsensor on the passengerside head with the old temp-cable but doesn't seem to friggin work... fuse maybe?? (someone mentioned grounding which I will be checking)

2: how much advance? running an MSD street fire. connected vacuum on the holley's 670 street avenger's provision for it, but I have no clue on how to adjust vacuum/mechanical advance...

currently it's running at exactly 0* @ 1200rpm now with timing light & plugcable #1.

btw, could this be the cause of the heat maybe?

to breakin:
3: running on fresh 10-30w SEA motor oil, good idea to breakin?

should I drive it breakin? I think it might be a better option then break-in in the stil-air garage if thinking of heat.

anyway, it runs pretty well and started the first time in 3 sec. all other times it starts up pretty fast, but after it got a bit hot on the end of the day a total 10 minute run over 2 hours it kept on dieseling a bit after turning of the switch for a couple of seconds...

Monday I'll continue and hope to do the breakin after figuring out how to connect the throttle linkage to the street avenger (anyone with a street avenger here?).