Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to start a SBC 383 project this summer and I was looking for some opinions on rotating assemblies and heads. I am considering Eagle or Scat for the rotating assemblies. Will these need to be balanced? Internally or Externally? How much clearancing on the block will be needed?
For heads I am considering Brodix IK200 aluminum heads with 200cc intake runners and 2.02/1.60 valves or World s/r torquers which cost a little less and have about the same numbers but are iron.
this is my first buildup and any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for the help-Brian

·
Banned
1,680 Posts
Depending on the block and the rods you use it may need clearancing as thats what we have found with the Scat I beam rod with 7/16 cap screws so far with this combe all the blocks needed to be clearanced.

Here is a link to an engine we built last year and using a good set of Vortecs and the same cam we have seen the same results.

http://www.chevelles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=106715&highlight=DYNO

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
QuenchPiston said:
There is no need to clearance a 383. They came from the factory as a 383 so I don't see a need to clearance it.
there were no factory 383 sbc your thinking of that other kind.

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
and it being a 400 crank id think it would have to be externally balanced, unless the crank is aftermarket and then it should say otherwise

·
Registered
99 Posts