Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a novice tuner who is hitting a wall, running out of ideas, and kindly need some help. I tune my Q-Jet by "giving it what it asks for" at the track as opposed to dyno tuning. It's a mild 4000lb car that runs 12.9/105mph. Steady idle of 14Hg in Drive and no vacuum leaks that I can observe. Total timing is 36 degrees.....16 initial/20 mechanical. Best ET and MPH is always with 78 jets and DG secondary rods on a "G" Hanger. Even richer rods like CCs slow it down and richer in the middle AX's also slow it down. Carb is factory 800cfm unit with only a 1/4" base gasket...no spacer. Float level is 1/4" and needle & seat is .135. I use a RobbMc mechanical pump with functioning return line. If I take fuel out and use 76s or 75s, ET and MPH suffers. If I put 78s back in, all is well. Choke pull-off release time is one second. Engine is 455 Pontiac with mild hydraulic roller 224/230 .552/.528 112 lobe separation. Rest of drivetrain is TH400 with 3:08. Stock cast iron intake but oversized cast iron exhaust manifolds and "X" pipe. I tune for "cooler" weather, which is what I prefer to run in. DAs around 600 feet to 700 feet is what the car likes. It seems to just want more and more primary jet but I'm having a real difficult time thinking even larger primary jets than 78s are needed to go faster/quicker. I'm starting to run out of larger jet options. Should I slowly add more timing? Have I plateaued with my set-up? Thank you.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
7044270. It's the same as the 1973 versions only the factory downsized the primary jets in mine to 70s and used thinner primary rods for part throttle in order to meet increasing EPA emission constraints. '73 versions used 76 jets and 51 primary rods I believe.

·
Registered
348 Posts