Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have just started a new project,, A 36 chev 4 dr sedan,,[ I know!!! a real ugly ducklin, ] but it has alot of sentimental things that the owner seems to want to charish,,, and he pays the bill,,, anyway, all the body wood is no good,, so that means that it will have to be replaced with steel tubing,,, my question is do you guys think it would be better to replace the wood before taking the body off the frame or go ahead and remove the body and build the chassis and then put the body back on and do the wood replacement, I'm thinking that it would be best to do the chassis first,, then with the frame and ride al set at level,, put the body back on and fit all the doors and seams with the new steel tubing ??? any Ideas????
Maybe this is the wrong forum for this,,

Attachments

·
im on a highway to hell
688 Posts
i'm not an expert on this but i would say to prop up the body where its supposed to be and tack in some braces to hold it in place then take the body off and replace everything.
i've seen other guys do it this way.

·
or Jeff, or Doc, or...
989 Posts
Bill-
Judging from the doors, I would say the lower cowl is rusted out and the flootboards, as well as the rockers.

If it were me, I would get some 3/4" black iron pipe, some allthread and make some props to hold up the roof. Take the weight offthe door pillars. Then, when you lift it high enough, you can get your doors somewhat aligned. Take angle or tubing and weld a brace to the bottom of the front door pillar to the rear pillar. You will be able to pull the doors off, and work on it easier. I am doing a 39 right now. (See my Project Journal). Let me know of you need any advise. Judging from your other projects, I don't think you will. :thumbup: Man, I love that hot-rod!

Jeff

Back to your question-
I would brace first, wood second, then do the frame once the body is completely stabilized.

·
Registered