Registered
1978 olds cutlass supreme sbc406 th400 3.73
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m putting together a gen 1 sbc 406
Afr 195 Eliminator heads
Scat Rotating Assembly
9000 crank, forged rods forged piston dish -15.20cc icon
I have been really indecisive on what brand cam and lifters to use. I feel like all I’m reading is about lifter failure and I really want to avoid that. I’m also hearing of noisy lifters. This motor used to have a hyd flat tappet in it and it lasted me 20 years. Now I’m converting over to Hyd Roller. Right now I’m looking at camshafts
Howards cl110525-12s
Howard’s cl110265-12s
Howard’s cl110275-12s
comp 12-443-8(xr288hr-10)
Comp 12-443-8 (xr294hr-10)
I’ve called Isky and that cam lifter package was 1300 because he said he would have to make the grind. I’d like to do the crowers recommendation too.
Anyway what is the best way to go about making sure I get the most longevity out of the lifters and I’ll throw in rockers too. Thanks for your time. I’m a newb here I’m sure it’s been talked about and I’ve read a bunch of threads already but for what ever reason I’ve not read how to have a successful build and switching worries me a bit with all the complaints on the forums. I understand that the negative experiences out way the positive experiences on here or where it seems like no one is bragging about how they don’t have noisy lifters and they aren’t exploding.
thanks
mike

·
Registered
399 Posts
For the street i would not go bigger that the 110265-12. Currently I am putting the top end together on a 421 SBC deluxe short block that I bought from NYES Racing. I asked for the cam to be ground to around those specs. During the middle of the covid fiasco . Erson was having issue getting cam cores. So the builder finally found a off the shelf piece Comp 12-419-8 (CS NX288HR-13) a little more on the duration than I wanted but the LSA was what i wanted for the street.