Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so im new at building sbc's. i have a 68 chevy c10 with a 74 corvette 350 in it. i putting together a parts wish list and i am a little confused about roller rockers and cams. solid flat tappet. and so forth. all i really want to know is which cam will work in my block. can i get solid, flat tappet, roller. thanks in advance for any help on this situation. im just trying to build a mild engine. i like the rough idle sound.

thanks

·
Premium Member
8,454 Posts
The simple answer to your question is yes! you can put any of those in your block. However, you need to do some basic thinking first about what use you want for your engine. Roller cams are top of the line in function range-ability and unfortunately, cost. Unless you just want bragging rights (and by looking at my car in my avatar, you can tell those are high on my list!), or are wanting to turn out some really serious HP over 5000rpm, stay away from the rollers. If you car will be a street/strip car or just a Sonic Drive-In cruiser, stick with a good hydraulic cam and lifters. They can turn out very impressive performance numbers and are much cheaper and easier to run. Get a Jegs and Summit catalog and study them. Oh, and do searches on this board 'cause there is a BUNCH of serious info on cams here.

·
489 Lemans
2,139 Posts
cam choice

All you want is a hydraulic cam and lifters. Solid lifters need to be adjusted periodically. Roller cams are very expensive and used on very hot motors.

I'm going to get thrashed for this one but its my opinion. Roller rockers are fine used with extreme cams like rollers where the valve train geometry changes. It causes the stock rocker to rub back and forth on the valve stem causing stress and wear.

A stock rocker doesn't move around on the valve stem with a low or moderate cam. That's why I see no use for them on a street motor. I wouldn't waste my money.

·
Premium Member