Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! Ok here's the question. I have a 1954 Chevy 5 window pickup. When I received it today I noticed there is a black lever to the right of the steering column under the dash that seems to move forward and back with different stages in-between. Nothing seems to be opening or closing, but I did notice a sort of triangular shape cutout towards the front windshield that looks like it may have opened at one time on the outside of the car above the hood opening. Is this a vent that should be opening and closing when I move the handle? If it is, can any one steer me in the right direction as to how to repair it or a good book to buy for a beginner on how to fix such things? This is my 1st old truck but honestly I am not a mechanic but am not afraid to experiment. i bought it simply because the color was cool and it looks sharp as all heck.
Thanx,
Mari

·
you can never know to much
102 Posts
I BELIEVE that is the handle for it, but not 100% certain. I have a '50 Chevy 3100 (in my avatar) but it doesn't have a handle under there, it was probably taken off (or broke) a looonnggg time ago!

Got any pictures of the truck? I'm interested in seeing how it looks :thumbup:

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello Country!
As soon as I figure out how to post pics I will. In the meantime I did however find out that there was a loose cable that I reattached to the handle and the air vent opens up and it actually does pull in some nice breezes as you cruise along.

·
102 Posts
Zoop said:
Hello Country!
As soon as I figure out how to post pics I will. In the meantime I did however find out that there was a loose cable that I reattached to the handle and the air vent opens up and it actually does pull in some nice breezes as you cruise along.
Glad you got it figured out! :D Did the '54 have the leg vent? (It slips my mind at the moment.. :drunk: )