Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just rebuilt a 90 model 350 40 over just got it put in and i run for about 3 minutes
and it over heats bad i work on this stuff for a living but this prob is new to me
also i have no stat in yet

·
Glad To Be Here
2,240 Posts
bocephus86 said:
i just rebuilt a 90 model 350 40 over just got it put in and i run for about 3 minutes
and it over heats bad i work on this stuff for a living but this prob is new to me
also i have no stat in yet
The most often cause of a new engine overheating that quickly is because the timing is retarded. Check this first.

Dis-connect the vacuum advance hose from the vacuum advance cannister and plug the hose. Restart the engine. Bring the RPM up to 2500-3000 RPM and check/set the timing in the 32-36 degree range. Re-connect the vacuum advance hose.

Install a 180 degree thermostat. Running without a thermostat or some other restriction can also cause overheating because the coolant is able to flow too quickly thru the radiator and thus does not get enough time to cool.

If you have a clutch type fan, it will not be very efficient at higher RPM's that are run during the cam "break-in" period and will not help cooling a stationary vehicle. Place a "box" style fan in front of the radiator to assist the cooling when running the engine during the cam "break-in" period.

Installing a fan shroud will help.

Running straight water with no anti-freeze will cool best.

If you are running a flat tappet cam, continue to run the engine between 2000-3000 RPM for about 20 minutes. This is to "break in" the cam. Vary the engine RPM some to help "splash" oil onto the cam during this time. Watch for any coolant, fuel and/or oil leaks. Watch the engine temps and oil pressure. Shut down to fix if required, then restart and continue the "break-in" procedure.