Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to this site. Have I got a problem or WHAT?

I have been chasin a heating problem since April of 2019 on a project truck. Didn't realize it would be this hard. Bought a 69 GMC pickup. All stock. It had been sitting of r not sure maybe 8-10 years. I did all the replacements normal to get running to see what I had. Had to replace the TH 350. Got it running and the Engine ran hot. At idle or driving. I replaced all the hoses and belts, went from a 2 row copper to 4 row aluminum radiator with two 1730 cfm (3460 cfm) fans on a sensor. Changed water pump. Put a high out put and OEM replacement. lower hose new that I had replaced did not have a spring.....replaced the new hose. tried several different thermostats. 180-195. The engine ran good .used on water did boil over a little a few times before the new radiator but not since. It always went up to 230 even 250 once. It had a 2 barrel and stock intake. I jerked the engine out had it boiled and had it stroked to a 383. 10:5-1 pistons, Aluminum head, (Flo Tech 180CC) roller cam and roller rockers, 750 Holley vacuum secondary's. All new A/C system, new distributor, hooker headers, 3 chamber flow masters.