Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 350/400 turbo from 1984 c20 that I will put in a ton and half 1937 truck. By all accounts a tight fit and I want to change to a short water pump. Stock power steering and delco alternator ( no air or smog). Is there someone who has done this and knows the mounts, pulleys, and layout of steering pump and alternator that would work for me. I tried searching forum but couldn't find info. This is my first build and any help would be appreciated. :)

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for the good link. I'll try calling their tech dept/guy on Monday. Maybe they can set me straight on the pulleys and harmonic changes that might be needed to use a new short water pump with their brackets and my stock alternator and power steering.
Anyone out there been thru this that can give me advice would be helpful.

·
Registered
3,518 Posts
You'll probably talk to Bill, you won't need to change the harmonic damper and the pulleys are readily available, stock, chrome steel, aluminum whatever your heart......and wallet desires. Make sure you get a GOOD wtr. pump that has a captured impellar, flows much more water. Look at the stage 1 or 2 Stewart and get a 16 lb. radiator cap.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Sounds like brackets are readily available. Now I just need the pulley situation for my water pump, alternator, and power steering. Hopefully the tech guys at one of these sites can keep me straight. I will make a trip to the only local pick/pull yard but I won't hold my breath. Their small and they crush quickly. :( Thanks again.

·
Banned
1,971 Posts
64-72 older trucks used short pump

but before 69 they used the ram gorn exhaust manifolds ot mount the steel lower bracket to the manifold bolt

69-72 were cast iron and only bolted to the cylinder head

so you would want this

but you could probably rig a 64-68 one